electroninkponderings

file2601338435800

Someone recently asked me what I thought of the History Channel’s two seasons of Vikings in light of the Norse culture I write about in my novel The Serpentine Key. Honestly, Vikings takes place in an almost cliched environment that everyone thinks of when they think of the Norse people and I avoided that by placing my Norse people in a different environment and culture in Byzantine Constantinople. However I do love the feel of the Vikings show. It highlights the dark earthy magic of the Norse culture better than anything I have seen yet. Yes, there are historical errors, but the overall feel is very authentic. It doesn’t shy away from the dark reality of these people. They even had an episode in which the sex magic of Seidhr was briefly alluded to. In our culture, sex is either something dirty or something that sells beer. In theirs it…

View original post 231 more words

